Inhaling Vietnam

Sash and I went through a phase of trying out various Vietnamese restaurants that we came to learn about.

Lunch!

Another Vietnamese restaurant recommended by my Vietnamese client. Nghi Ngan Quan. I have no idea how to pronounce the name, I just go Nyeh Nyeh.

We had stir fried beans with beef slices, slow cooked duck, fish in tamarind, and beancurd in Vietnamese tomato sauce (fave out of the lot!). We also ordered rice for 4, and was given enough rice to probably feed 6. The covered pot in the picture above was what the rice was served in… we were given 2 of those. I thought rice was going to start flowing out of my nose.

We enjoyed all of the dishes we ordered. We would have finished every single morsel of food if we weren’t so full (probably from all the rice), so leftovers were taken home. And then I had to rush off, but not without stuffing my face with more food! I was still chewing as I was walking to the car.

Nghi Ngan Quan on Urbanspoon

A couple of weeks later, we went to Vietnam where they are known for their barbecued quails.

Softshell crab

Beef

Barbecued quail

Beans

The waitress that was serving us, commented that we had ordered all her favorite dishes. I took it as a good sign. The quail was so yummy, juicy and perfectly seasoned. We all licked the bones clean. The beef and softshell crab wasn’t too bad either, not a single piece was left at the end of the meal.

Another thing that I like about the place is the service. Everyone was really friendly and attentive. They even hold the door open for you when you leave. I am very used to having to hold the door open myself.

Vietnam on Urbanspoon

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Inhaling Vietnam

  1. Michelle August 15, 2012 at 9:36 pm Reply

    Stumbled on your blog whilst procastinating and I love the blog layout (so user friendly!). All the best with completing your “Let’s get fat” list=)

    xx Michelle

    • Laine August 18, 2012 at 12:03 am Reply

      Thank you! So many places to go, so little time (& money). Haha :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 757 other followers

