Coffee for deadmen?

Mum and the brother came for a visit and we went on a road trip along the Great Ocean Road, arriving in Melbourne at the end. Whilst there, I jumped at the opportunity to cover some of the places in listed on the Melbourne list, that I didn’t get to go to the last time I was in Melbourne.

Deadmen’s Espresso

The menu

We had originally planned to pop into the South Melbourne market, because it looked interesting in a Melbourne tourism brochure. What the brochure failed to tell us was that it was only open on certain days. And the day we chose to visit it, happened to be one of the many days that it would be closed. Ugh. Melbourne tourism, FAIL. The opening days would probably one of the most important things to include in a tourism brochure apart from the address, no?

Anyway, when we got to the cafe, it was fairly packed, and we pretty much snagged the last table available. The staff promptly sat us down with menus and glasses of water.

According to a little pamphlet on our table, it told us about the origins (?) of the cafe. It explained that the area which the cafe sits upon used to be where people who had flocked into Victoria during the gold rush era, used to hang out for… well, coffee. Thus, that is why they had set up the cafe there blablablabla. That’s all I remember from their lengthy story. I thought they were going to tell me a story about their pirate ancestors or something, because of the pirate looking gun they use as their logo, and possibly because one of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies was called Dead Man’s Chest.

Just chillin’

One thing I like about visiting cafes, is that I get to watch the hustle and bustle that goes on behind the counter, and the glass displays of little cakes and pastries of the day. The full length glass windows just made everything seemed so much better with all the sunlight. Although it started to drizzle a little shortly after.

I ordered a glass of iced mocha, which came with ice cubes and not ice cream. YUMMMM. I generally do enjoy iced mochas/coffees that come with ice cream. But coming from Singapore… where iced something, generally meant that the drink would come with ice cubes, not ice cream. When I found out iced coffee in Australia came with ice cream, not ice cubes, I suffered a mini culture shock. Wait, would that even count as culture shock? Anyway, the coffee was nice and strong, and not bitter at all. And when served with ice cubes and not ice cream, it didn’t taste like coffee flavoured milk at all.

Smoked salmon with poached eggs on potato cakes

The brother and I got the smoked salmon dish. Which was really yummy and I ate every morsel of eat, resulting in a really bloated tummy. The egg yolk oozed all over the potato cakes as you sliced into them. Take a little bit of the egg yolk drenched potato cake, topped with a little bit of salmon, avocado and egg… NOMS, yum. Simple, but yummy.

Quinoa seed something

Mum ordered a quinoa seed something. I don’t quite remember its name. But it had quinoa seed, fresh salad veg, a poached egg and sour cream. For the longest time ever, I’ve been wondering what in the world is quinoa seed. I’ve heard about it, read about it, about how healthy it is blablabla. But I’ve never seen it, so I didn’t know how it looked like or how it tastes like, till that day. I was ooohhhh and ahhhh… when it got to our table. Tried a little bit of it, it was okay, a little bit peculiar tasting, and I probably wouldn’t really order it again if I had a choice. The dish was yummy as a whole, but I don’t think I’m a full fledge quinoa seed fan. I wouldn’t say I won’t eat it, but if I could avoid eating it, I probably would.

After this, we headed off to St Kilda.

Dead Man Espresso on Urbanspoon

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 756 other followers

