Into the rabbit hole

I stumbled upon Farm Gate Providore when the family was in Adelaide, but we were too full at the time to eat anything. So I didn’t get to try their lovely cakes and pastries which sat, taunting me, from a glass display.

Up front

There are two glass displays, one along the street just at the front of the shop and another one inside of the shop.

People watching

The decor outside gives off one of a quaint little cottage. Which was what drew me to it.

Inside

Both the glass displays inside and out, house relatively the same thing. We spent a few minutes walking in and out trying to figure out if there was a difference before we realised, there wasn’t any. The girl at the counter was really patient with us staring into the glass display and deciding on our drinks. She also recommended some of the cakes which she thought were good.

One thing that was confusing about their display of sweets and cakes, was that the labels might not actually apply to actual cake that its sitting under. For example, the cake on display might be a chocolate slice, but the label might say vanilla slice, which was the item beside it. I was a little like, HUH? It was just easier to point and ask the person behind the counter what the various things were.

Down the rabbit hole

After you’ve picked your sweet of choice and ordered your drink, you head down a few steps (with your sweet in hand) into a little room that houses about 3 tables. The room was cosy with sunlight streaming through a small window. The wall was covered in little jars of homemade Farm Gate Providore jam. I thought I was going to fall down the steps, as they were relatively steep, but I didn’t. Thank God. I would have been upset, not because I fell, but because my precious little cake would have been all over the floor.

Strawberry vanilla bean mousse cake

I got the strawberry vanilla bean mousse cake, which was recommended by the girl behind the counter. And it was yummy. The mousse was smooth, and the strawberry jam/sauce thing at the top made me lick my spoon after every bite.

Baked blueberry cheesecake

DC announced that she wanted something cheesy, so I suggested ‘Cheesecake?’. It was the only cheesy dessert thing I could think of. So she picked out their baked blueberry cheesecake. I personally prefer set cheesecakes instead of the baked ones because they have a stronger cheese flavour, and I prefer the creamy-ness to the typical cake texture. I hope I’m making sense. Anyway, this blueberry cheesecake was light and fluffy, yet creamy, I actually liked it even though it was a baked cheesecake.

Vanilla slice

KZM got a vanilla slice. The taste of it reminded me of Ritz apple strudels that we can get back in Singapore because of the vanilla filling they use. All it was missing was some apples and it would have tasted exactly like a Ritz apple strudel. Unfortunately the pastry at the top and bottom of the slice were pretty tough. We were stabbing it with our dessert forks and spoons, but nothing would break it. In the end, we just went straight to the middle without trying the pastry. So I have no idea what the pastry tasted like. But I didn’t hear any complaints from KZM, and he finished the whole thing so I’m assuming it wasn’t too bad.

The 3 different desserts

Besides the desserts, we also got ourselves some coffee, blackcurrent tea and a hot chocolate.

Hot chocolate

The hot chocolate came with real milk chocolate running over the brim of the cup. The shop as a huge chocolate fountain opposite the glass display, where you dip strawberries into to get chocolate covered strawberries. Basically, the cup was filled up with the melted chocolate from the fountain, and warm milk added to it. You’d be reminded to stir the contents in the cup before drinking as the chocolate would be at the bottom of the cup. We were woo-ing and ah-ing over the melted chocolate on the cup.

Latte

My latte came with a leaf! Yay! The coffee was okay, being on the weaker side.

All in all, Farm Gate Providore is a nice place to chill and hang out with friends for a catch up session. Although I think girls might appreciate this place better. So probably, a catch up session with your girlfriends would be nice.

Farm Gate Providore on Urbanspoon

Tagged: , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Into the rabbit hole

  1. trishie November 19, 2012 at 11:26 am Reply

    I was looking at the photos thinking this place looks familiar and then I saw it was in Hahndorf and of course that was the same place I stopped by for a coffee and a macaron. Love that place!

    PS: I would like to invite you to enter the inHomewares giveaway at my blog. Enter for your chance to win $50 voucher! http://www.underlockandkeyblog.com/2012/11/inhomewares-giveaway.html

    • Elaine November 22, 2012 at 11:40 am Reply

      Thanks for the invite :)

  2. ionlyeatdesserts December 16, 2012 at 3:36 pm Reply

    I’ve also been here and I had gotten the vanilla bean cake too. It actually is from muratti – the exact same design and the same packaging, you can see the m on the clear wrapping around the cake. Yummy cake but I don’t go as far as Harndorf to get their amazing cakes, only a 20 min drive to Prospect for me :)

    • Elaine December 18, 2012 at 6:14 pm Reply

      I have to visit this Muratti place you speak of!

  3. baron February 25, 2013 at 2:46 pm Reply

    When I read an article describing.the intricacies of pasteries and place, it would be desirable to have that reflected in the way words and rhythm of the text, put it was simplistic, stop start in tempo generally lethargi. I’m sorry to be Mr critical, but the writer not only didn’t sell the Farm Gate, but doesn’t uphold the journalistic prowess of gram. On the upside, pictures were saliva inducing.

    • baron February 25, 2013 at 2:50 pm Reply

      Take a leaf out of my book, proof read! My apologies

  4. Modesta February 28, 2014 at 9:44 am Reply

    Write more, thats all I have too say. Literally, it seems as though you relied
    on thee video to maske your point. You clearly knoww what youre talking about,
    why throw away your intelligence on ust posting
    vieeos to your site when you could be giving us something informative too
    read?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 757 other followers

