Ola Amigo

La Cantina Co

I don’t remember how I found out about this food truck. But after Burger Theory, I was keen to try the food from the sudden influx of food trucks (actually only 3 that I know of at the moment). So I stalked them on Facebook and on Twitter, keeping track of their whereabouts hoping that one day I’d be able to try their food.

And then one fateful morning, they tweeted that they’d be in Unley for some Mexican festival thing happening in the area. So I dragged Hills along, hunting down an orange food truck.

Chicken and pork soft tacos

It didn’t take us long to find them. A big orange truck made it easy to spot them. I got a smoked chicken taco and a spiced pork taco. I thought the chicken tasted spicier than the pork. But the spice was so mild, it could have easily been neglected. The chicken was good and the fresh coriander brought out the flavours of the sour cream really well. I liked that one and would probably order that taco again. The pork wasn’t as flavorsome although the pineapples did add a nice sweetness to it. Or maybe I ate them the wrong way round, so the stronger seasoning of the chicken overpowered the pork. Like you know, if you have something really sweet and then have something not-as-sweet, it just dulls the taste of the second item?

Also, it was a relatively windy day and I kept getting mouthfuls of my own hair with my taco. Not cool, guys, not cool.

Jarritos guava

I also got one of the Jarritos sodas to try. I liked the guava flavour one I picked. The soda was refreshing on a sunny day, but because I’m not a fan of carbonated drinks, I drank a few mouthfuls and then attempted to shake the frizziness out of the drink. I like it better when my frizzy drinks turn flat. Hehehe.

Hills enjoying her taco

Yes, sure, some of the flavours would have easily been made at home, with a sachet of powdered seasoning from the supermarket. But I thought that La Cantina Co took the basic flavours and leveled them up by pairing it with other fresh ingredients such as coriander, pineapple and jalapenos.

I look forward to trying their other 2 tacos in the future!

La Cantina Co on Urbanspoon

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Ola Amigo

  1. thecookingchook November 21, 2012 at 8:26 pm Reply

    It’s funny that you should mention La Cantina Co, because I’ve just posted about them too! SNAP!

    • Elaine November 22, 2012 at 11:30 am Reply

      Oh snap! Great minds think alike? Hahahaha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 756 other followers

