The little bicycle cart

I just had two cups of coffee back to back, and am feeling a little bit too buzzed at the moment. Omg, so many things running through my mind right now and I can barely string coherent thoughts together. I might be spazzing a bit. I am such a lightweight. Oh goodness. Anyway, moving on with life.

I love the whole street food culture that is slowly gaining momentum in Adelaide. Street food culture has been a major player in Asia for a very long time. Asian countries such as Taiwan, Hong Kong, Thailand, Korea and Japan are some Asian countries that possess a really robust street food culture.

The Veggie Velo cart

I got turned away the first time I stumbled upon the Veggie Velo cart because they had a long line of people waiting for food and they were running out of ingredients for their burgers. I walked away with an empty tummy. Then I saw them again at the Gilles Street Market, and I made a beeline towards their little bicycle cart.

Perhaps the name of the cart already gives it away, all the burgers offered by Veggie Velo are vegetarian or vegan friendly. They offer two different burgers, a quinoa one and a haloumi with mushroom one. The last time I tried quinoa (in Melbourne) I found the taste of it peculiar, so I opted for the haloumi with mushroom burger.

No regrets. The burger was massive. It was originally served with just a napkin wrapped around it, so I asked for for mine to be placed in a takeaway box because I was afraid everything might fall out of the burger before my second bite. I would advise you to do the same if you don’t want to risk losing your burger to the ground. I had trouble fitting the burger into my mouth. The servings were generous. I barely suppressed my gasp when they called out my name to collect my order. The girl laughed because she knew precisely why my eyes grew about 10cm wide.

There were so many things sandwiched in between those two buns, I’m not sure if I can name them all. There was lettuce (and salad greens, maybe), alfalfa sprouts, an egg, mushrooms, a haloumi patty and caramelised onions. I might have missed out a few things. The burger was H.U.G.E. I cannot emphasize this enough.

Hills with her burger

The mushroom and haloumi combination was genius. The earthy taste of the mushrooms and the meaty taste of the haloumi patty made me forget that it was actually a vegetarian burger. I think meat-lovers might actually enjoy this burger and overlook the fact that there is no meat in it at all.

Veggies are good for you. I’d suggest all you anti-veggie people to give Veggie Velo a chance to prove to you that veggies can taste good as well. Start stalking Veggie Velo on their Facebook page now.

Veggie Velo on Urbanspoon

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “The little bicycle cart

  1. The Mind of RD Revilo December 12, 2012 at 11:00 am Reply

    Reblogged this on RD Revilo.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 757 other followers

