Gotta love the weekend

Weekends are great because you’re finally getting a break from school! I just got back from Horsham. A small country town in the state of Victoria in Australia. One of my housemate is from there, so we paid a visit to his hometown! Plus he wanted to go back to replenish his supply of frozen home cooked food from his mum. Her cooking is awesome…

It was a 5 hour drive from Adelaide to Horsham. AM and J took turns driving us there. My butt was sore by the time we got there. But road trips are fun! Anyway, by the time we got to Horsham, it was about 7pm. It was dinner then a campfire, cozying around the fire we spent the night chatting and discussing our plans for the weekend. We couldn’t do much, so it was off to bed after we finished watching Superbad.

Woke up bright and early for breakfast, then a shower and then off to the farm! I got to ride a horse! And because I’m vertically challenged, I had to have the help of Hills to get me onto the horse combined with lots of screaming from me. I couldn’t help it. Wish I knew how to ride a horse. AM’s grandparents were really friendly, and his grandfather was really enthusiastic in introducing the farm animals to this Singapore suaku girl. He was so excited that I finally got to pet a chicken and have it so close to my face that I could kiss it! And then the guys proceeded to teach us how to shoot with a rifle. Yup, a real live and loaded one.

Aim, fire!

Aim, fire!

When I said “Whoa, this is heavy” as they handed me the rifle, they proceeded to laugh at me because that was the lightest one! The really pro ones that they had were super heavy! And they had a shotgun too, which was really heavy as well. Anyway, they were really nice and patient in explaining to me how to hold and stuff. Aww… AM’s family was so nice to his Asian housemate, I’m touched. Haha.

Anyway, we spent the day around the farm, cuddling the kittens, taking a drive in the ute, riding the horse, playing with the animals and relaxing in the house for afternoon tea.

J at the back of the ute

J at the back of the ute

Oh, utes are what Australians call their trucks. And they were pretty determined to ingrain that into our dear American girl’s, Hills, head since she kept calling it a truck. Haha. They were trying to turn us into Aussies! Ha.

When the sky turned dark, we were bundled up in warm clothing to get ready for spotlighting. We drove around in the ute with a spotlight, hunting foxes and rabbits which aren’t native to Australia and they destroy the crops and kill the sheep. So, they’re shot. It was an interesting experience, standing at the back of the ute, trying to spot rabbits and such, with a spotlight. That night we spotted a couple of rabbits but only managed to shoot one. And AM tried to make me pet the dead rabbit but I refused. No way am I going to touch the dead corpse! I don’t care if it’s still warm and fluffy. Anyway, the dead rabbit was eventually fed to one of their cats on the farm.

Coming to 8.30pm, we headed back for a quick change of clothes (I was too lazy to change, so I went around with my dirty farm clothes) and then off to a pub. It was AM’s brother’s 18th birthday outing thing and AM was pretty excited about showing his little brother the ropes to good drinking. Haha. We were trying to get his brother to dance and everything. And eventually he warmed up and didn’t need persuasion anymore :).

I didn’t have a single drop of alcohol that night, I’m a good girl :D. Hahahaha.

Anyway, we stayed till the pub closed and headed to the opposite side of the road for some fries before headed back by foot. Hmm… yeah, I think Horsham is small enough to travel around by foot. We drove to the pub, and I was sober so I could have probably driven us back, but the only thing missing was a license. Hahaha. I should probably get one, huh?

Collapsed into bed, but was rudely woken up by my right calf cramping. It’s not the first time it’s happen. I wonder what’s causing it because it’s interrupting my rest! Rah.

Our last day (which is actually today) in Horsham was a relatively quiet one with breakfast, a BBQ lunch (yums) and a short trip to some mountain place overlooking the countryside before heading back to Adelaide again.

I had fun, and AM’s parents and grandparents were asking when we’ll visit again. They’re such nice people. I have awesome housemates 😀 I feel so blessed. Thank you, God!

Oh, I’ll be uploading pictures on Facebook and Shutterfly soon!

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “Gotta love the weekend

  1. matt May 19, 2009 at 2:42 am Reply

    Thanks I found this blog really useful, I’ll recommend it to friends.

  2. angel May 20, 2009 at 8:24 pm Reply

    fun fun. can i go find you and crash at your place in oct ? since i end my trimester super early.

    • Laine May 21, 2009 at 12:13 am Reply

      can. how long are you going to stay for? like till dec? then we fly back to singapore together? hahaha

Leave a Reply

