Double yolk, double yumminess!

If you’ve been following my tweets, you would have found out that I have been getting eggs with double yolks. I’ve gotten two so far. So, here’s what I’ve gathered:

  • The chicken that laid those eggs must be super fertile or something
  • The chickens from that chicken farm/barn/coop/whatever must be super fertile or something
  • The chickens from that chicken farm/barn/coop/whatever are mutating
  • The chickens from that chicken farm/barn/coop/whatever like having twins
  • The chickens from that chicken farm/barn/coop/whatever possess the genetic code which makes the chances of those chickens to produce twins higher (omg, so science-y)
  • I’ve just killed two pairs of twins
  • I must be damn lucky or something, and should probably go buy 4D

So I’ve been thinking, what happens if you get a double yolk egg while baking? Like, the recipe calls for only one egg, so you crack an egg in only to realise that the egg has two yolks! What happens next? Should I dive in and try to scoop the extra yolk out? Doesn’t the extra yolk kinda ‘spoils’ the consistancy? Like, certain recipes call specifically for 1 egg yolk and 3 egg white, or 3 egg yolks and maybe 2 egg whites or 2 egg yolks and 4 whites. And then this egg decides that it is going to produce twins and decide to have 2 yolks?? So the extra yolk has decided to spoil my cake/cookie/baked goodies?

Anyway I just googled Double-yolk eggs and the internet tells me that double-yolk eggs rarely lead to successful hatching as the two chicks end up interfering with each other and thus resulting in death. Dammit, so sad, no twin chickens.

If that carton of eggs have anymore double yolk eggs I am going to go ‘ZOOOMMGGGGGGG’, and my cholesterol might just go through the roof.

Tagged: ,

6 thoughts on “Double yolk, double yumminess!

  1. Dan C October 12, 2010 at 7:10 pm Reply

    Are the egg yolks smaller than usual? I haven’t seen a double egg yolk for a very long time… and not even after 8 years of owning laying hens either.

  2. paulyn October 15, 2010 at 12:01 am Reply

    aiyoh my dear u can always crack the egg into a small bowl first. then if really gt double egg yolks, remove one and scramble the other for breakfast tmr. lol…

    • Laine October 15, 2010 at 12:09 am Reply

      Haha, but when you bake you don’t think to break it into a separate bowl first since like, how often does a person gets an egg with double yolks?

  3. Cynthia November 1, 2010 at 7:10 am Reply

    I just made some pumpkin bread which the recipe called for 4 eggs. I cracked the first egg (extra large) and it was a double yolk! Two separate yolks. The next THREE were also double yolks! The last three yolks were sorta attached to each other, but defiantly two yokes. What the heck are the chances of that? I have seen double yolks before, but not the first four out of a dozen eggs. I wonder what the next 8 eggs will bring?????? By the way, the bread was still very good. The yolks were smaller in size, so two might have been the same size of just a single yolk.

    • Laine November 1, 2010 at 6:44 pm Reply

      Thanks for sharing! At least now I know to not go try to scoop out the extra yolk or something. Let me know if the other 8 eggs got double yolks too! You should go enter the lottery if they were. You might win! And then share the prize money with me, hahahaha. I kid.

Leave a Reply

