The brother got a new webcam

So, I got to Skype with the family! It was kinda exciting because I actually got to see people on the screen. The last time I Skyped with my mum, the only face I got to see was one of those default Skype avatars. But this time, I even got to see my grandmother on the screen! And for a few minutes she thought that only they could see me on their end, and I couldn’t see them. Then after conversing for like, 10 minutes she started to wonder if I could hear what they were saying. Seriously, grandma? And then she abruptly announced that she was going to bed, so she left. Doh.

Anyway, the brother got some stylo-milo HD webcam, so the whole family was complaining how I looked blur on-screen. Dude, you had my face up on the TV screen, of course the image’s gonna be grainy.

I just looked up HD webcams on ebay, and the prices ranged from AUD$30 to AUD$60 something, with a million different specs. What’s the difference between a 720p and a 1080? Isn’t 720p not very HD-ish??

AND HE GOT A NEW COMPUTER WHICH RUNS ON WINDOWS. NOOO…! The betrayal!

Going to bed now. Night.

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “The brother got a new webcam

  1. Daniel Carter July 18, 2011 at 3:39 am Reply

    Warning: Very boring content follows…

    720 is 50% less vertical resolution than 1080. Unfortunately, the looking ‘blur on-screen’ is probably more a function of Skype employing extreme compression, rather than of your video resolution.

    “HD” is anything substantially above traditional analogue TV broadcast resolution (which under PAL is around 480 usable lines).

Leave a Reply

