Tasmania in the summer (Part 1)

This space has been so neglected, it’s not even funny. I’m sorry I’ve been way more occupied in Singapore than to sit down edit pictures and come up with an entry. I mean, how can I pass up on yummy Singaporean deliciousness (as in food). Right?

As such, I’ve forgotten how I had originally intended this blog entry to be like. I had it all planned out in my head and everything. And then food was placed in front of me, and then I forgot everything. Go me!

So anyway, I spent a couple of days in Hobart during the summer break before returning to Singapore. Here’s what we did during our second day. Our first day only consisted of dinner, a little bit of exploring and then sleep.

The glass elevator that takes you 3 floors into the ground

Recommended by a friend of a friend. We headed to Mona, which is really this area in Hobart which is entirely owned by this really rich guy. It has a hotel/resort/chalet, restaurant, vineyard, winery and a museum. The museum is basically an art museum where he stores his art collection. It was pretty cool because the museum was situated in a cliff. Three whole levels. INSIDE A CLIFF. I think the owner basically thought ‘I’ve got all these art work. Where should I store them? I know! I shall just dig into that cliff I own and store them all there!’

Not gonna lie. Being three levels into a cliff was kinda cool. Being a non-resident of Tasmania, we had to pay a small entrance fee. You were then given an iTouch which had been formated especially for the museum. As you moved through different parts of the museum, you press this ‘Where am I’ button, it senses where you are, and then comes up with a list of art works that you’re close to. You get to read up about the works, who the artists were, what the owner thought about it and blablabla. And then it kinda remembers your route around the museum and you can get it emailed to you.

My route

It also allowed you to vote whether you liked the artwork or not.

Light bulb

One of the works I liked was this light bulb chain thing. There’s this metal thingy that you hold onto, it measures your heartbeat and the light bulb pulsates according to it. The picture above is of the very first light bulb, when another person holds on to the metal thingy, their heartbeat is shown on the first light bulb and yours gets pushed on to the second light bulb in the chain. So on and so forth, the light bulb chain eventually reaches a room full of light bulbs pulsating at different rates from different people. It was really interesting.

Wall of drawers

Moving on. There was this wall of drawers with pictures of people. And when you pulled a drawer out, a recorded voice of the person saying ‘I love you’ plays on repeat. There’re little descriptions about the person and what the ‘I love you’ meant to the person or something. It was cool, and yet creepy at the same time. Especially when you have a few drawers pulled out. And some people have really creepy voices? Or the way they were saying ‘I love you’ was just…. really creepy! Plus, it was dark.

Bicycle

The wheel spins

The owner’s description of the wheel at the back, was that he didn’t understand why did he even buy it. He said that he could have probably painted it himself or that his kid could have done one of similar standards or something like that. He had a sense of humor. But if he saw it as something he could have done himself, then why did he even buy it?? What artistic value did he see in it?? I don’t understand! Why did you buy it then??

Besides the paintings, the little bags of coal on the floor were art pieces too

Perhaps I’m not really an arts person, or I don’t really know how to appreciate art that well. The bags of coal (I think it was coal? Or rocks?? I don’t remember!) on the ground were art pieces too. How is placing bags on the ground art?? I DON’T UNDERSTAND! The paintings were pretty to look at though.

The blank room

Everything in this room was blank. I forgot what it was suppose to symbolise.

Blank books and everything

During the first half hour or so, I was still voting on the little device as to whether I liked an art work or not. But as we ventured on further into the museum, the works just got increasingly depressing. Works about euthanasia and a lot of things about death or blood or torture or pain or goodness-knows-what, made the majority of the works. I just gave up voting, I was just going to dislike everything anyway. By the time we finished looking around, I was feeling depressed and sluggish. Oh, one thing cool about voting though, after you submit your vote, the device tells you how many other people liked/disliked that particular work too.

Cafe overlooking the river, I think it's a river

Indoors or out, your pick!

The weather at Tassie is crazy amazing during the summer. It wasn’t insanely warm like Adelaide, but really pleasant and sunny! The temperature was usually around the 20s (celsius).

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Tasmania in the summer (Part 1)

  1. Daniel Carter (@dansync) February 5, 2012 at 4:48 am Reply

    That’s the Derwent River. One of its claims to fame is that it is home to (downstream a little) the deepest sheltered port in the southern hemisphere. That’s also why the Tasman Bridge’s foundations are actually floating on the mud far below, as opposed to being embedded in something more solid. This is sufficient provided Hobart does not experience a decent earthquake.

    • Laine March 5, 2012 at 6:42 pm Reply

      Now that I know this, I’m not sure if I’ll dare to go on that bridge again.

Leave a Reply

