Number 1 or 2?

KSL came over to do an eye test on Sash and I for her uni assignment.

First in a dark room

It started out in my room, with the lights off except for the lamp by my bed. Something about looking at the light refracting in our eyes/pupils, then figuring out how blind we are what our eye power is.

Even though Sash has massive eyes, we found out that she has really small pupils, which made things a little bit trickier for KSL. So, Sash has small pupils and I have close set eyes.

Fancy some funky glasses?


And then we moved outside to read the chart. But we were mainly playing with all the funky lenses. Sure, we’ve all experienced this before whilst getting our glasses, but you don’t get to play around with the lenses at the optometrist and stare at what’s in the case.

Throughout the whole time, KSL kept asking us ‘Which’s clearer? Number 1 or number 2?

1? 2?

That was about the only question we were asked. After awhile, it was just *places lens* ‘1’ *switches lens around* ‘2’, and then we’ll respond with a number.

Mid way through the test/check, KSL kept giving me double vision with the way she placed the lenses. It was like WHOAAA. Getting double vision is a pretty surreal experience. Very confusing. My brain was screaming ‘WHAT IS GOING ON??’ until KSL fixed it. And then my brain stopped freaking out.

Adjusting the lenses

And then I found out what the red and green eye test is for. (The test where the screen is divided into half, one side red, one side green, with the exact same writing on both sides, then you’re asked which side is brighter/clearer) Apparently it’s to test where the image you’re seeing is being projected in the eye. Something about yellow, red and green wavelengths and the positions and stuff like that.

I’ve always known that I have a really mild degree of astigmatism, but apparently I don’t have astigmatism in my left eye, only in my right eye. It’s so mild, it’s only 0.5 degrees or something like that. Hahaha, I didn’t expect it to be THAT mild.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Number 1 or 2?

  1. Dan C September 5, 2012 at 3:18 pm Reply

    I think astigmatism is measured in cylinder diopters (e.g. 0.5) and angle (e.g. +90 degrees)…

    Would you or KSL happen to know if 0.5D of cylinder (which I have) might be enough to cause irritation or mild headache – or is it too small to have any effect?

    • Laine September 5, 2012 at 6:09 pm Reply

      I have no idea. If your 0.5 is the same as the 0.5 I have then it shouldn’t be enough to cause irritation or headaches. At least I haven’t experienced any. I’ll check with KSL the next time I see her and let you know what she says. 🙂

    • Laine September 6, 2012 at 8:30 pm Reply

      She says it doesn’t cause irritations or headaches.

Leave a Reply

